|Panagias Island ( Old Trikeri )
Village - South Pelion
The small islet of Panagia is situated in the Pagasitic Gulf, very
close to the southern edge of Pelion peninsula and is known also
as Palio Trkeri ( Old Trikeri ).
Panagias Island is a picturesque island covered with olive trees
and tranquil scenery. This island was habituated during the ancient
years and it was the
place that the Argo stopped for repairs before the long trip to
Kolhis in search of the Golden Fleece.
During the medieval period the island was known as Kikinthos, but
it was also a big attraction for pirates and Saracens, that were
pillaging the island.
These continous attacks resulted in the immigration of its people
to the land opposite the island, where the village of Trikeri was
This islet has great religious importance, as found here was the
miraculous icon of Evagelismos tis Panagias ( Panagias Annunciation
) , on the 25th of September in the root of an olive tree.
This icon is believed to have been created amongst others by the
Evagelist Louka, made with wax and mastic. On the place that the
icon was found, the monastery of Panagia Faneromeni ( The revealed
Panagia ) was built in 1837.
This islet attracts many visitors because it's monastery that celebrates
every year on the 10th of September with a large religious and traditional
festival, and also because its tranquil beauty and scenery.
The islet offers accommodation facilities in beautiful traditional
houses, and has restaurants, cafes, and fish tavernas. The beaches
around the island are magnificent and offer isolation, tranquility
and exceptionally clean waters.